Houston ISD Video Contest Winners

About The Contest

Skip to 2016 Winning Videos
Skip to 2017 Winning Videos

Each year, students from the Houston Independent School District (HISD) are offered the chance to create short videos to discuss pertinent privacy issues aimed at their peers, on topics which rotated monthly.

HISD elementary school students created videos on the importance of strong passwords as a key to responsible digital citizenship. Out of 8 submissions, 5 students from two schools demonstrated their mastery of this concept, winning the top prizes in the video production contest. Harvard Elementary School students won four of the five prizes (first and second, as well as two honorable mentions), while a student from Eastwood Academy took home the third-place prize.

The competition was created as a part of Houston ISD’s Digital Awareness program to increase students’ web savvy while also giving them an opportunity for creative expression.

“This has been such a great outlet for the students,” said Harvard Elementary School Instructional Technologist John Schaff. “We have been trying to create movies that fit into our curriculum, and we will be recommending other cyber safety and digital citizenship topics for future competitions.”

Winning students received gift cards of $100 provided by the Future of Privacy Forum.

2017 Winning Videos

Elementary School Winners

“WiFi Spy” by Sophia Singley and Katherine Jan, Mandarin Immersion Magnet.

“Koala Emma” by Emma Syphard and Kritika Dwarakantha, Harvard Elementary School.

“Look, Don’t Text” by Natascha Wabritiz and Camille Olson, Harvard Elementary School.

Middle School Winners

“Cyberbullying” by Lauren Richards and Amanda Pedraza, Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy.

Fake News” by Opeyemi Ogundele and Valeria Sanchez, Young Women’s College Preparatory Academy. (click on link to view the video)

Phishing” by Elias Cesar, Patrick Henry Middle School. (click on link to view the video)

High School Winners

“WiFi Spy” by Samantha Gonzalez, Alessandra Herrera, and Jazmine Lawson, East Early College.

“Login Safety” by Samantha Gonzales, East Early College.

“No Phishing” by Jason Vega and Alisson Hernandez, Energy Institute.

2016 Winning Videos

Elementary School Winners

“No Phishing” by Amelia & Katherine. Harvard Elementary, Houston ISD.

“Cyberbullying” by Genesis Smith. Burus Elementary, Houston ISD. 

Middle School Winners

“Internet Safety” by  Fayobami Taiwo, Olivia Federlein, Daniel Maldonado & Justin Albano. Hamilton Middle, Houston ISD.

“Nettiquette” by Nora Segura Aguillon. Henry Middle School, Houston ISD. 

High School Winners

“Phishing” by Javier Lopez . Sharpstown International High School, Houston ISD.

“No Phishing” by Jules Rosen. Bellaire High School, Houston ISD.